Plastindia Foundation elects Ravish Kamath as President for 2023-26

Plastindia Foundation elects Ravish Kamath as President for 2023-26

Dr Raju Desai takes over as Vice President and Dharmendra Gandhi as Hon. Treasurer

  • By ICN Bureau | October 03, 2023

Plastindia Foundation has announced the election of Ravish Kamath as its President, Dr Raju Desai as Vice‐President and Dharmendra Gandhi as Treasurer for the term 2023-26 at the recently concluded Annual General Meeting.

The new Managing Committee comprising of senior entrepreneurs of the plastics industry assumed office with immediate effect. Ravish Kamath took over from Jigish Doshi.

Kamath will lead the Foundation in its mission to advance growth in innovation, sustainability, and responsible practices within the plastics sector and its verticals. He brings with him a wealth of experience and a deep commitment to the industry's growth and development.

Kamath is the Founder/CEO of Big Bags International Private Limited, one of the major manufacturers and exporters of Flexible intermediate bulk containers (FIBC’s) operating since 1993. He was the Chairman of Plexconcil between September 2018 and December 2020 and currently he is the Panel Chairman FIBC, Plexconcil. He was the founder President of IFIBCA (Indian Flexible Bulk Container Association) in the year 2002 and again between 2012 to 2014. He is the past President of AIFTMA, the association of plastic woven sacks manufacturing of India

Kamath expressed his gratitude and said: "I am deeply honored to take on the role of President at Plastindia Foundation. The Plastics industry is a vital component of India's economy. It plays a crucial role in various sectors, including manufacturing, healthcare, agriculture, construction, and packaging. As we move forward, my focus will be on fostering collaboration, innovation, and sustainability in the growth of the plastic industry. We will work closely with all our stakeholders, government bodies, and industry partners to drive positive change and thus, work towards creating positive image of Plastics. Together, we will chart a path for a more sustainable and prosperous future.”

Dr Raju Desai who has taken over as Vice President is another industry veteran and has worked on the betterment of the Plastic Industry on various projects. He is the Chairman & Managing Director of Jyoti Group, Vice President of Plastindia International University & Past President of AIPMA (All India Plastics Manufacturers Association).

Dr Raju Desai said, “The Plastindia Foundation, through its Plastindia exhibition and various related industry’s initiatives, including PROPLAST, offers a tremendous platform for the entire spectrum of the plastic industry, encompassing machinery, raw materials, and finished products. The foundation's ongoing mission is dedicated to fostering the growth of the Indian plastic industry, focusing on scalability, sustainibilty, and the development of a circular economy. I am sure that under the able leadership of Ravish Kamath, this team will be able to overcome various challenges and meet the expectations of the Industry.”

Dharmendra Gandhi, the new Treasurer of Plastindia Foundation is a co-founder of the Mutual Group. With over four decades of experience, he has been instrumental in introducing the latest machine technology to the Indian polymer industry. Having being actively involved in the Polymer community, in particular firstly as President of the Organization of Plastic Processors of India and now being part of Plastindia Foundation, Mr. Gandhi’s Vision centers on providing innovative solutions while prioritizing environmental and energy conservation, which will prove to be invaluable to the growth of the Plastic Industry.

The Members of the Managing Committee for the term 2023-26 are – President Ravish Kamath, Vice President Dr Raju Desai, Hon. Treasurer Dharmendra Gandhi, Imm. Past President Jigish Doshi, Hemant Minocha, Jayesh K. Rambhia, V. K. Taparia, Alpesh Bipinchandra Patel, Rashmikant Kishorchandra Mehta, Ramesh Kumar Rateria, Sisir Jalan, Abhay Upadhye, Anil Reddy Vennam, Prof.(Dr.) Shishir Sinha, Dr. P.S.G. Krishnan, Kamal P. Nanavaty and Raj Kumar Lohia.

Register Now to Attend NextGen Chemicals & Petrochemicals Summit 2024, 11-12 July 2024, Mumbai

Other Related stories